Welcome.

You have discovered my blog page. I am Pastor Dana and I pastor the Warsaw Church of God. Thank you for checking in to read my thoughts, insights and tid-bits of humor along the way.

This morning as I type, I am watching teenagers from churches across the commonwealth enjoy activities like Gaga ball, slip n slides, cards, ping pong and so much more. It is hopeful for me to see these teens and leaders gather to worship with passion and play with enthusiasm, without fuss or fight or argument. Even better is to see them listen and respond to the gospel as they fill the altar seeking more of God. I find hope that this generation is still excited to not only enjoy camp but get serious about their relationship with Jesus.

While my body reminds me that I am not as young as I try to be, and while being a cabin leader perhaps means sleep deprivation, it is only for a short time. The take away from all of this is that we need to invest in the future of our youth. We can never give up on this generation; we must persevere in our efforts to share the gospel of Jesus Christ with this generation and those who follow after them, as long as the Lord tarries. The more we do, the greater HOPE we will have in the future for The cause of Christ.

In my 50+ years of life I have spent portions of my summer first as a camper and later as camp staff, camp directors and in various ministry roles at camp for the vast majority of those years. Each time these summers remind me of the importance of investing in our youth not just with a summer camp, but with loving, encouraging, training and sharing Christ with our younger generations throughout the year.

For twenty years my family served in children and family ministries; while our role has transitioned to lead pastor now our commitment to young people has not changed. We have to be vigilant in sharing the gospel with ALL generations.

Everyone can help us in this endeavor! Men you can mentor boys who have no male influence in their lives or teach them valuable skills like working on their car or how to catch a large mouth bass. Men you can also help boys understand how to treat a lady and how to love and lead in their families as faithful followers of Christ. Ladies you can come alongside girls and encourage them in their self-esteem, encourage them to succeed in their professional life but also in their relationships and as a wife and mother. Most of all you can be present in their life and let them know you care and that they have a friend in you.

Joel 1:3 says “Tell your children about it, and let your children tell their children, and their children the next generation.”

But the teaching is not one-sided. There is much that we can learn from the younger generations as well. Our faith works best and the church is most successful, when all generations learn from each other and come together to love and encourage each other.

If you are a part of the Warsaw family, then please take the time to ask me how you can help. If you do not currently have a church family, then we would love to welcome you into ours at the Warsaw Church of God. Visit us this Sunday with worship at 10:30, we would love to welcome you “home”.

Blessings, Pastor Dana